dairy free chocolate

The Moo Free Chocolate Blog

dairy free milk chocolates

Just how do you cope when you work in a factory surrounded by chocolate that you have to eat as part of your job? Read all about dairy free chocolate overdoses and the struggle to create the perfect dairy free chocolates.

moo free blog rss

Made with Moo Free

Made with Moo Free

Hi everyone, Margery here.

Are you a wizard in the kitchen? Are you the king/queen of cuisine? Then Moo Free Chocolates has an exciting activity for you.

We here at Moo Free are creating a “Made with Moo Free” folder on the Moo Free Chocolates Facebook page. We are going to fill it with your submitted recipes that are free from and vegan friendly that use Moo Free Chocolates. (You can use non-free from/vegan ingredients if you list alternatives alongside them so everyone can enjoy making the recipe).

You can submit your recipes to Hammy Hamster here and the Made with Moo Free folder can be viewed here. Please remember to include an image with all submissions!

For every recipe chosen by Hammy Hamster and uploaded to Facebook we’ll send you a selection of Moo Free Chocolates. Be sure to take your time as this is an ongoing activity (unless we run low on chocolate to give out that is!).

Have fun!

P.S. The 'Made with Moo Free' activity is open to everyone, everywhere!

Made with Moo Free: Jenny's Big Lovely Chocolate Cake

Jenny's Chocolate Cake Image

Hello everyone,

Jenny has very kindly shared her delicious recipe for a 'free from', vegan chocolate cake with the Moo Free Friends and now we're sharing it with you!

As a 'thank you', Hammy Hamster will be sending Jenny a couple of bags of the Moo Free Original Organic Baking Drops, which are available at Morrisons and at DairyFreeChocolates.com in the UK.

If you fancy winning a couple of bags of the baking drops, you just need to submit your 'free from', vegan recipes to Hammy Hamster either via FB messenger or by emailing her at hammy.hamster@moofreechocolates.com. If she picks your recipe for her 'Made with Moo Free' collection, you'll get some Baking Drops. It's as simple as that!

Anyway, without further ado, here's the recipe:



For the cake:
• 170g self raising flour (can be made gluten free by using self raising gluten free flour and half a tsp of xanthan gum)
• 30g cocoa powder
• 200g caster sugar
• 200ml plant milk
• 2 tsp of cider vinegar
• 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
• 1/2 tsp of baking powder
• sprinkle of salt
• big glug of oil (around 80ml)

For the icing:
• 75g plant spread
• 75g vegetable fat (such as trex)
• icing sugar until it's the correct consistency (around 200-250g)
• 80ml plant milk
• 30-50g cocoa powder (depends how chocolately you want it!)
• 1 bag of Moo Free Baking Drops.


For the cake:
1. Combine all the cake's dry ingredients.
2. Add the vinegar to your plant milk to allow it to curdle a little.
3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix quickly until combined. Don't over mix it! Separate into two cake tins and tap each cake tin on your work top to pop any bubbles.
4. Bake for around 20-30 minutes at gas mark 5.
5. Take out of the oven and allow to cool in the tin for around 10 minutes before transferring them to a rack.

1. Using either hand mixers or a free standing mixer, add the spread and vegetable fat together, plus half the plant milk. Mix these together until they become creamy.
2. Start adding the icing sugar, about 100g at a time, plus the cocoa powder.
3. Mix until it forms icing! If it gets too stiff, add the rest of your plant milk. If you want it stiffer, add more icing sugar.

Finishing the cake:
1. Once the cake has cooled, spread half the icing over one half, and scatter over half the Moo Free Baking Drops.
2. Place the other half of the cake on top, and cover with icing and the rest of the Moo Free Baking Drops.
3. Enjoy!

The Allergy & Free From Show London 2017

The Allergy & Free From Show London 2017

Hi everyone, Margery here.

Just a quick reminder that Moo Free Chocolates are attending The Allergy & Free From Show this week from 7th -9th July, 10am – 5pm at London Olympia. Moo Free will be stationed at stand A631. If you need a floorplan you can find one here. Be sure to register for your Free Tickets before it’s too late (tickets cost £10 otherwise).

If you’re just hearing about this show, it’s a family friendly event where customers can meet with companies who provide suitable products to people who are:

• Living with allergies (such as having to avoid certain materials like dust mites or latex)
• Have intolerances to certain products
• Suffering from diseases such as Eczema or Coeliac disease
• Living without dairy, gluten, wheat or eggs

There’s loads of various products on show - from gluten free biscuits and dairy free milk to specialised skin care and hay fever products, there’s something for everyone (especially chocolate lovers!).

You can also check out the various activities the event hosts including cooking demonstrations and talks with experts (both professional and like-minded bloggers) for medical advice and recipes respectively.

Hope we see you there!

Are Peanuts Really Nuts?

Peanuts are not nuts

Hi everyone, it’s Margery Mouse here!

Did you know peanuts are not actually nuts?

Why is that? Well that’s what today’s topic is about.

Peanuts, even though they have similar qualities to nuts (hard shell, only a couple of kernels where other legumes have more, having the word nut in the name), are regarded as legumes due to their underground origins. Tree nuts grow in trees.

So, what does this mean if you’re allergic to peanuts? Should you also avoid other legumes such as soya beans, peas and beans? Probably not, but it is worth getting some professional advice if you are worried.

People with peanut allergies are at a higher risk of tree nut allergies (e.g. walnuts, almonds, cashews) even though peanuts are not closely related to tree nuts botanically - how very confusing! This is because the structure of the proteins are similar, and so people who are allergic to peanuts can also be allergic to tree nuts, including almonds, Brazil nuts, walnuts, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pistachios, pecans, and cashews.

Unlike with tree nuts, there does not appear to be a high level of cross-reactivity between peanuts and other legumes. If you are concerned always seek medical advice.

Just so you know, Moo Free Chocolates does use hazelnuts in the Hazelnuts & Cranberry and Caramelised Nibs bars but we do not use any peanuts in any of our products. We also try to minimise any cross contamination with other bars by cleaning the machines after we use hazelnuts.

Recycling and Moo Free Chocolates

Recycling symbol

Hello everyone, it's Margery Mouse here.

Today, in celebration of World Environment Day and Moo Free's commitment to being as environmentally friendly as possible, I thought I'd discuss recycling Moo Free Chocolates’ packaging.

Almost all the Moo Free products’ packaging is recyclable in some way - this is important to Hammy Hamster and all the Moo Free Friends as we care about protecting the environment. For example, the cases we use to transport Moo Free chocolates are recyclable by standard cardboard recycling methods.

What’s more important is that the plastic we use in our packaging is also recyclable. However, you can’t just throw it in regular plastic recycling as it falls under the “mixed plastics” category. We have to use this plastic to keep the chocolate allergen-safe and protected.

Mixed plastics is defined as “all non-bottle plastic packaging sourced from the domestic waste stream, and it includes rigid and flexible plastic items of various polymer types and colours that are typically found in the household waste bin. It excludes plastic bottles and non-packaging items." 1

Currently, industrial plans like PIRAP are paving the way to ensure more plastic is recycled . In fact, 74% of local councils now recycle mixed plastics, meaning just under three quarters of you can recycle the plastic on Moo Free packaging!

More info can be found here.

Be sure to check with your local council to see if they do mixed plastic collection.

See you all soon.

Lots of love,

Margery Mouse.

1. Definition of Mixed Plastics

View all blog entries

Share this page with:

Why not bookmarkbookmark this page?

dairy free chocolate
  • Join us on Facebook

    Get all the latest news, gossip and dairy free chocolate give aways on Facebook.
NEWSLETTER | awards | events | charity | jobs | faq's
Cheeky Chops
dairy free chocolate